Trying to keep up!

Trying to keep up!
I’m getting a little frazzled. There’s a ton of yard work to do, the garden is growing like crazy (as well as the weeds), and there’s plenty of animal work that needs to be done. Last week I managed to mow all the field so at least that’s done. I’m trying to get the lambs ready for the Skagit County Fair August 10th and 11th. The halter training is going OK except Moni (pictured above) likes to roll in the hay (and get it all over her nice fleece) and Wilhelmina and Winifred freak out. I haven’t even tried to train the ram lambs yet- so they may end up pretty wild at the show- we’ll see! I also realized we are bring 4 ewe lambs and 2 ram lambs to the Fair, but there’s only 2 of us to show them- so I’m not sure what to do about that!The other issue is that I noticed Saphie (pictured above) is getting wide and her udder is developing. Earlier in the spring she escaped very briefly through a very temporarily unlatched gate and found our buck Cody. It seemed like she went into heat later so I didn’t think she was knocked up but now I’m sure she is. She’s due the first part of September so that ruins our Labor Day weekend plans.

2007-07-27 14:37:20 GMT
This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

