Shearing Day

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks to Eifion, Joe, Denise, Eliz and Sally for all your hard work!

This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shearing Day

  1. Chai Chai says:

    Great pictures, looks like a lot of hard work. I will be interested to see how you process the wool at home.

    Like

    • Donna says:

      Thanks Chai Chai! It was a lot of hard work. We went out to dinner because neither of us wanted to cook. I have processed one sheep fleece and all the cashmere I have with the electric carder in roving. I have 6 fleeces washed and ready to go. The new fleeces need to dry before I can skirt them and get them ready.

      Like

  2. mcfwriter says:

    Wow, that’s impressive – great pictures! After Eifion left yesterday I wished I’d remembered to take a picture or two, but honestly, he’s so darn fast there wasn’t much time to do much of anything beyond the necessities.

    Like

  3. Jackie Craw says:

    I’m glad that chore is done for you. We can’t have our sheep done till late April most likely, because of the road. I always dread shearing day. I get nervous the sheep will get nicked, although it doesn’t happen very often.
    Jackie

    Like

    • Donna says:

      Thanks Jackie! Some of the sheep were nicked but nothing bad. I know they are terrified by the whole process but at least it is over quick and they are back to their peaceful lives. And I have a lot of gorgeous wool. I hope your shearing day goes well.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Shearing day | Framers

  5. Pingback: Awash in Fleecy Goodness | in Sheeps Clothing

Leave a Reply

