Mica Mittens

My Mica mittens are done.  I spun the saved fur from my long dead dog Mica and finally spun it into yarn.  I had made a hat earlier, and these are mittens to go with it.  They are Feathercrest by Jared Flood.  The pattern is in my Christmas present book, Knit Real Shetland. Of course now it is Spring so I will not be able to wear them until next winter, but it is nice to have them done and safely tucked into my winter gear drawer ready for when it does snow.

This is Mica.  She is still sorely missed.

 

This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mica Mittens

  1. Michelle says:

    The mittens are a gorgeous color. What a special memento of your special dog!

    Like

  2. Jody says:

    How wonderful Donna 🙂
    When you feel the warmth from those beautiful mittens on a cold winter’s day……it will be a special hug from your beloved dog.

    Like

  3. sheepsclothing says:

    love the picture of Mica. what a pretty girl. and the photo has such atmosphere.

    Like

    • Donna says:

      Thanks Denise! She was a pretty girl, and we had great time together. In the photo I am brushing the fiber from her. It helped keep her cool, and I fortuitously saved the fiber.

      Like

  4. Gail says:

    Beautiful tribute to a fine friend dog. Sorry for your loss.

    Like

  5. Sylvia Ramos says:

    Hi! I knit a bit, but this is the first time I’ve heard of making yarn from dog fur! I’m amazed!
    How much fiber did you need for all those projects? Are they made entirely from Mica’s fur? I’m most curious about how you gathered the fur. Was it just from brushing her?

    Like

    • Donna says:

      Hi Sylvia,
      I had a lot of fiber that I had stored up over the years. Some I had brushed off her (which was easier to process and spin). Some I had sheared off her with scissors. The mittens are made entirely with her fur. It took two yarn balls with some leftover to make the mittens but I still have quite a bit of yarn left. I also made a hat with her wool, posted on an earlier blog. I waited to spin her fur because it is harder to spin than wool, and I did not want to waste it. But I am finally good enough and the yarn came out OK.
      Donna

      Like

      • Sylvia Ramos says:

        Thanks Donna! I used to joke that I could make a whole new dog out of the fur that came off whenever I brushed my Australian Shepherd. I’m amazed you actually made a beautiful hat and mittens!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

