Rain and Harvest

tomatoes

We have had 3 inches of rain since 8/29, per Grampa’s rain gauge.  The grass is starting to grow for the first time in months.

The harvest continues in earnest, thanks to our long hot summer.  I am trying to pay attention to which seeds did well and which did not.  The jury is still out on the tomatoes since they are growing like crazy but not much in the way of ripe tomatoes, and I cannot see the plant tags with all the growth.  But what I know is that the Strong Start and Quickie corns did well as did the Compass bush beans and Forum onions (some below).  The Pontiac potatoes did particularly well this year.  No matter what I do the  zucchini and cucumbers do well.  The Neon pumpkins did well, but I am waiting on the others.

onions

This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rain and Harvest

  1. thecrazysheeplady says:

    Just saw a link to your blog on another blog and realized that I’ve been missing all your updates :-o. I can’t figure out a way to “follow” though with wordpress. What do I need to do?

    Like

    • Donna says:

      I think you just click the follow symbol way down on the right below all the archive dates. I should move it to a more prominent position. Them you fill out a form and wordpress sends you a confirmatory email. Let me know if this does not work.

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

