Roosters

Tuesday sunrise

Tuesday sunrise

We have quite a few roosters right now.  We have the mixed breed roosters that resulted from the unplanned egg hatching last August.

rooster 1

rooster 1

rooster 2

rooster 2

rooster 3

rooster 3

rooster 4

rooster 4

rooster 5

rooster 5

We have the mixed breed rooster who was spared when he escaped butchering in June 2015 and decided he was too small to bother trying to catch.

spared rooster

spared rooster

We have the Welsummer rooster that was given to us by a neighbor in August 2014.  He is now the head rooster.

welsummer rooster

welsummer rooster

We have the “free rare chick” now grown up from the chicks we ordered in the spring of 2014.  I think he is a Lakenvelder rooster.  He seems to like the white hens the best.

Free Rare Chick Lakenvelder rooster and his white harem

Free Rare Chick Lakenvelder rooster and his white harem

 

We have the bantam rooster that just showed up one morning.  We call him “Little Man”.  He likes the big hens best.

little man

little man

I could not find our older and last surviving Phoenix rooster from 2006.  I fed him bread in the morning but by the time I decided to take pictures he was hiding.

And this is “Old Rooster”.  He was the head rooster but no more.  I have been feeding him bread out of my hand every morning, and he seems to like that.  I am a little surprised that he survived this last winter.

old rooster

old rooster

We got him as a Speckled Sussex chick in 2010.  Here he is as head rooster in 2014.

head rooster 2014

head rooster 2014

I should pay tribute to our all-time favorite rooster “Cogburn”.  He is long gone (2008) but still remembered here.

Cold weather and Cogburn

I like having some roosters around.  They are beautiful and colorful birds.  I love the crowing in the mornings (usually).  They watch their hens for predators.  They have funny personalities.  The ones that are too aggressive need to go.  And right now the 5 young roosters are terrorizing the older roosters and the hens.  So on Sunday we will solve this problem.

This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roosters

  1. That’s a lot of roosters!

    Like

  2. sheepsclothing says:

    wow. that is quite a crew. the Welsummer guy is very impressive, but I kinda like Little Man. maybe it’s the name 🙂 I think that maybe one of the chicks I got this spring is a rooster, but not sure yet. I’d sworn off naming chickens, but for some reason I’ve started calling him Bertrand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

