Garden Cooking

I have been using recipes designed to use the food from the garden that is ripe now.  I made a Corn, Avocado and Cucumber Salad.  Below is the topping for the salad.  It is placed over layers of avocado, cucumber and tomatoes.  It is then garnished with mint, queso fresco and red pepper flakes.

This salad was amazingly good.  Plus I used up some of our corn, cucumbers, tomatoes and mint.

I made Corn and Clam Chowder with Zucchini and Herbs.  This was tasty, although I am not a huge fan of clams.  And it used up quite a bit of corn, potatoes and zucchini.  Plus I had clam meat in the freezer leftover from my GOT cooking.

corn clam chowder

I have also made Baked Parmesan Zucchini.  Unfortunately this was quite bland, even despite the parmesan and herbs.  So although the recipe took 4 zucchinis, I probably will not make this again.  Sad.

baked zucchini

I have also bookmarked quite a few recipes in the Tender cookbook my father bought for me.  I have recipes at the ready for our beets, carrots, chard, parsnips, and pumpkins.

Tender

I have not quite figured out what to do with the bumper crop of turnips yet.

I was able to can 5 more quarts of tomatoes today with more on the way.  Even though we had a very late start of the garden this year due to the cottonwoods’ damage, we are experiencing an amazing harvest.

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

This entry was posted in Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

